May 19, 2024  
2024-2025 Undergraduate Academic Catalog 
2024-2025 Undergraduate Academic Catalog

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees, Minors, and Certificates by Department

Main Office: Walter Schroeder Library, L-350
Phone: (414) 277-7323

Fax: (414) 277-7465

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department is the oldest and largest academic department at MSOE. The department maintains 23 engineering and computer science laboratories, a high-performance computing cluster, and the EECS Technical Support Center. Undergraduate degree-granting responsibility includes the areas of biomedical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, and software engineering, as well as minors in the areas of computer engineering, data science, and electrical engineering. The department offers graduate degree programs in engineering, machine learning and perfusion. Certificate programs include AI for emerging applications, applied machine learning, and machine learning engineering.

The EECS Departmental Mission and Vision augments the Institutional Mission and Vision.

Our Institutional Mission Inspires Us

MSOE is the university of choice for those seeking an inclusive community of experiential learners driven to solve the complex challenges of today and tomorrow.

Our Institutional Vision Challenges Us

MSOE will set the standard for preparing leaders to solve the diverse technical challenges of the 21st century.

Our Departmental Mission Defines Us

Our student-focused, supportive environment prepares our graduates for immediate employment or continued study. We attract, develop and retain skillful staff and faculty recognized for their pedagogy, subject knowledge and engagement in professional activities.

Our Departmental Vision Drives Us

Our vision is to be recognized for encouraging and supporting all our students to achieve their full potential. We strive to build a community of successful professionals that contribute to our global society.

To this end, the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department will:

  • Offer and maintain nationally recognized instructional programs that include relevant, up-to-date curricula and laboratories.
  • Create an educational climate that incorporates best practices for student learning.
  • Support student professional, personal, and social development through faculty and staff mentorship and advising.
  • Foster mutually beneficial relationships with industry.
  • Provide research and international experiences and other development opportunities for students.
  • Meaningfully participate in recruiting and outreach activities.
  • Contribute to institutional initiatives that aim to broaden representation in the engineering profession.
  • Develop departmental expertise in online and blended learning.
  • Maintain contributing representation in professional and accrediting organizations.
  • Recruit and develop knowledgeable faculty dedicated to excellence in teaching.
  • Encourage relevant scholarly activities, consulting and research.



Dr. Sheila R. Ross

Vice Chairperson:

Dr. Christopher Taylor


Dr. Eric Durant, Dr. Ronald Gerrits, Dr. Robert Hasker, Dr. Steven Holland, Dr. Olga Imas, Dr. Russ Meier, Dr. Cory Prust, Dr. Derek Riley, Dr. Sheila Ross, Dr. Walter Schilling, Dr. Sohum Sohoni, Dr. Robert A. Strangeway, Dr. Christopher Taylor

Associate Professors:

Dr. Jennifer Bonniwell, Dr. Joshua Carl, Dr. Icaro dos Santos, Dr. Timothy Johnson, Dr. Richard Kelnhofer, Dr. Jeffrey LaMack, Dr. Ronald Nowling, Dr. Darrin Rothe, Dr. Charles Tritt, Dr. Robert Turney, Dr. Luke Weber, Dr. Jay Wierer, Dr. Josiah Yoder

Assistant Professors:

Dr. Sebastian Berisha, Dr. Saikath Bhattacharya, Dr. Donovan Brocker, Dr. John Bukowy, Dr. Brian Faulkner, Sean Jones, Dr. James Lembke, Dr. Adam Livingston, Dr. Jonathon Magaña, Alexander Pezewski, Dr. Ahmed Sayed, Dr. Megan Stokey, Dr. Roby Velez, Dr. Yiyang (Ian) Wang, Dr. Kerry Widder, Dr. Gabriel Wright

Visiting Assistant Professors:

Dr. Kevin Erb, Dr. Devon Lantagne

Pieper Power Endowed Chair in Artificial Intelligence:

Dr. Jeremy Kedziora


Dr. William Retert, Deborah Varnell

Adjunct Professors:

Dr. Edward W. Chandler, Dr. Larry Fennigkoh, Dr. Horst Hellbrück, Frederick Hoadley, Dr. Thomas J. Swiontek, Dr. Gerald Thomas, Dr. Jay Urbain

Adjunct Associate Professors:

Dr. Jovan Jevtic, Paul Licato, Brian Petted, Dr. Michael Wenzel

Adjunct Assistant Professors:

John DeMastri, Lucas Garcia, Ken Kazinski, Justin Kennah, Brian Lewis, Frank Porcaro, Dr. Ariana Smies, Amenah Syed


Angela Wiedenhoeft

Professors Emeriti:

Bernard Budny, Dr. Michael T. Chier, James Eckl, Dr. John Gassert, Dr. Mark Hornick, Dr. Owe Petersen, Dr. Hadi Saadat, Hans Schroeder, Dr. Mark Sebern, Dr. Thomas Swiontek


Senior Administrative Coordinator:

Emily Vogel, ACEA, CAP, HR, OM

Department Administrative Assistants:

Carole Kasprzycki

Stephanie Schultz

EECS Systems Administrator:

Dr. William Retert

EECS Technical Support:

James Frommell, Manager

Dan Schuler, Electronics Technician



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees, Minors, and Certificates by Department