Jul 03, 2022  
2018-2019 Undergraduate Academic Catalog 
2018-2019 Undergraduate Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Mechanical Engineering Department

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments, Undergraduate Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates

Main Office: Allen-Bradley Hall of Science, S-110
Phone: (414) 277-7375
Fax: (414) 277-2222

It is the mission of the Mechanical Engineering (ME) Department to provide students with a professional education that is both technically current and well rounded. We strive to prepare our students for professional careers in engineering, and to instill in them an awareness of professional and social responsibility. The ME Department offers four-year baccalaureate degrees in mechanical engineering and industrial engineering, as well as a part-time bachelor of science in engineering.

All of the degree programs are committed to delivering high-quality undergraduate education, stressing laboratory experiences and preparation for professional practice in an intimate, personal learning environment.

Laboratories are used extensively to support the curricula. The department maintains undergraduate laboratories in the areas of materials characterization and testing, manufacturing processes, energy systems, fluid power, electromechanical systems, ergonomics and computer-aided engineering, as well as laboratory space devoted to senior design project work.



Dr. Matthew Panhans 


Dr. Cynthia W. Barnicki, Dr. Christopher J. Damm, Dr. Subha F. Kumpaty, Dr. Mohammad Mahinfalah, Dr. Joseph C. Musto, Dr. Matthew A. Panhans, Dr. Vincent Prantil, Dr. Robert Rizza, Dr. Charlene Yauch

Associate Professors:

Dr. Aaron J. Armstrong, Dr. William C. Farrow, Dr. Leah Newman, Dr. Matt Schaefer, Michael J. Swedish, Dr. Daniel Williams

Assistant Professors:

Dr. Michael D. Cook, Dr. Douglas Grabenstetter, Dr. Kevin R. Hart, Dr. Nathan Patterson, Dr. Katherine Reichl, Dr. Luis A. Rodriguez, Dr. Michael Sevier, Dr. Nebojsa Sebastijanovic, Dr. Prabhakar Venkateswaran

Adjunct Professors:

Dr. Alexey Sverdlin, Dennis P. Tronca

Adjunct Associate Professors:

Dale R. Boschke, Dr. Mark Daugherty, David Gerow, Dr. Xue Cheng Lui, Dr. Luis G. Rodriguez, Thomas S. Wanke

Adjunct Assistant Professors:

Richard Dykowski, Dr. Richard H. Jungmann, Dr. Medhat K. B. Khalil, Dr. Michael Sracic, Dr. Anand Vyas


Jeffrey L. Bitant, Dr. Anthony Bowman, Thomas Eberle, Sara Falkiewicz, Paul Gessler, David Kohlmann, Phillip Mueller, Natraj Shanker

Professors Emeriti:

John H. Farrow, Dr. Robert A. Kern, Thomas J. Labus, Dr. John Slater, Paul H. Unangst


Anne Deisinger, Roger Hajny, Ann Herrmann, Vivian Mickelson, Richard Phillips, Justin Sommer



Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments, Undergraduate Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates