Skip to Navigation
    Milwaukee School of Engineering
  Feb 25, 2018
2013-14 Undergraduate Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department

Return to Academic Departments, Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates Return to: Academic Departments, Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates

Main Office: Walter Schroeder Library, L-350
(414) 277-7323
Fax: (414) 277-7465

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Department is the oldest and largest academic department at MSOE. The department supports 14 engineering laboratories, plus the EECS Technical Support Center. Undergraduate degree granting responsibility includes the areas of biomedical, computer, electrical and software engineering, and electrical engineering technology. The department offers graduate degree programs in engineering and perfusion. Related certificate and special company programs also are offered.

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at MSOE implements the mission of the university by providing competent and well-rounded graduates who function as productive participants and leaders in their selected disciplines. To this end, the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department will:

  • graduate biomedical, computer, software, and electrical engineers who have excellent design, analysis, and laboratory skills and are productive in industry doing design and development tasks in their areas of study, and are successful and recruited for graduate study by major universities.
  • graduate electrical engineering technologists who have strong laboratory and analysis skills, and who will be productive in industry supporting and performing design and development tasks in a variety of areas.
  • instill in its graduates a solid foundation in mathematics, science and engineering principles that will support current and future learning.
  • instill in its graduates the desire for lifelong learning and provide them with the appropriate tools for graduate education.
  • require of its graduates an understanding of professional and ethical responsibility in all personal and professional activities.



Dr. Stephen Williams


William Barnekow, Dr. Frederick Berry, Dr. Edward W. Chandler, Dr. Larry Fennigkoh, Dr. John Gassert, Dr. Ronald Gerrits, Dr. Russell Meier, Dr. Mark Sebern, Dr. Robert A. Strangeway, Dr. Stephen Williams, Dr. Glenn Wrate

Associate Professors:

Dr. Eric Durant, Dr. Robert Hasker, Dr. Jeffrey LaMack, Dr. Joerg Mossbrucker, Dr. Darrin Rothe, Dr. Walter Schilling, Dr. Christopher Taylor, Hue V. Tran, Dr. Charles Tritt, Dr. Jay Urbain

Assistant Professors:

Dr. Steven Holland, Dr. Mark Hornick, Dr. Olga Imas, Dr. Jovan Jevtic, Dr. Richard Kelnhofer, Dr. Adam Livingston, Dr. Bharathwaj Muthuswamy, Dr. Cory Prust, Dr. Sheila Ross, Dr. Kerry Widder, Dr. Jay Wierer, Dr. Josiah Yoder

Adjunct Professors:

Dr. Kishore Acharya, Dr. John Brauer, Dr. Michael J. Dunn, Dr. Steven Fredette, Dr. Cheryl A. Maurana, Dr. Owe G. Petersen, Dr. Reza Shaker, Dr. Thomas J. Swiontek,  Dr. Gilbert C. White

Adjunct Associate Professors:

James J. Blaha, Dr. Gerald Thomas, Dr. Robert Turney, John Wheeldon

Adjunct Assistant Professors:

Dr. Omar Abdel-Baqi, Brad Becker, Frederick Hoadley, Kirsten Kallies, Mark Krueger, Christopher J. Merkl, Brian Petted, Jeff Roznowski, Dr. Nancy Schlick, Dr. Carol Tumey, Baohuy Ung, Shannon Voborsky, Luke Weber, Dr. Michael J. Wenzel


Dean Thomas Bray

Professors Emeriti:

Bernard Budny, Dr. Vincent R. Canino, Dr. Michael T. Chier, James Eckl, Frank Evans, Dr. Owe Petersen, Dr. Donald Petzold, Dr. Steven Reyer, Dr. Hadi Saadat, Hans Schroeder, Dr. Thomas Swiontek, Thomas Tillman, Dr. Richard J. Ungrodt


Assistant to Chairman:

Emily Vogel

Department Administrative Assistant:

Sandra Pierce

EECS Technical Support:

Martin Handley, manager; Valery J. Meyer, engineering technician



    Return to Academic Departments, Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates Return to: Academic Departments, Degree Programs, Minors and Certificates